Login Status

Left Menu

Award Winning Speakers Prior to 2008

Sam Edwards’ Award of Excellence

Sam Edwards, CSP, CPAE, left a lasting legacy to the Florida Speakers Association. Although he was acknowledged for his wit and humor, he was a man who gave his love and affection generously to our Chapter.

The criteria for this award are:

  • Sense of Humor
  • Dedication to the Chapter
  • Regular attendance over a period of time (3-5 years)
  • Participation in Chapter activities
  • Speaks professionally
  • High ethical standards and values
  • Maintains membership in FSA/NSA
  • Regularly attends National Conferences

This award is at the sole discretion of the President of the Florida Speakers Association. This is not necessarily an annual award. It’s a view of contribution and attributes over a period of time that maintains the dignity and honor or the award.

The award is a Waterford paperweight, conical in shape. The significance of this is that no matter how you look at it, the light will reflect the glow and is a metaphor of the inner light that came from Sam whenever you looked his way at a meeting. There is no inscription.

Recipients have been:

1993 Carolyn Stein 1994 Bob Collins 1995 Arnie Warren 1996 Jim Barber 1997 Gayle Carson, CSP, CPCM 2000 Conni Gordon, CSP 2002 David Stanley 2003 Randy Gage 2004 Heidi Richards

Bill Gove Lifetime Achievement Award

The first award was made to Bill Gove at the May 1997 General meeting honoring Bill’s 50 year anniversary in the speaking business. This award will be given to future recipients on an “as achieved” basis to persons who have displayed the quality of exemplary service to the industry that Bill Gove has.

Recipients have been:

1997 Bill Gove, CSP, CPAE 1998 Ray Pelletier, CSP, CPAE 1999 Randy Gage 2002 Gayle Carson 2003 Carolyn Stein 2004 Conni Gordon 2005 Jim Barber 2006 Heidi Richards

Jim Barber Leadership Award

The first award was given to Jim Barber at the June 2003 Installation and Awards Ceremony in honor of his exceptional dedication, and outstanding leadership and service to the Florida Speakers Association.

This award will be given at the discretion of the President and Board of Directors to recipients who meet the following criteria:

  • Member in good standing for seven consecutive years
  • Past Chapter Officer
  • Active member of the Board of Directors at least four years.
  • Consistent attendance at Chapter and National meetings
  • High personal standards and professional ethics
  • Promotion of the speaking profession to non-members
  • Promoting ongoing learning to members of the association
  • Overall impact of contributions to the Florida Speakers Association

Recipients have been:

2002-2003 Jim Barber 2003-2004 Allison Blankenship 2005-2006 Gayle Carson

FSA Member of the Year Award

1989-1990 Anne Rouseau 1990-1991 Arnie Warren 1991-1992 Terry Lubotski 1992-1993 Jim Barber 1993-1994 Jim Barber 1994-1995 Nikki Sweet 1995-1996 Randy Gage 1996-1997 Lisa Jimenez 1997-1998 Lisa Jimenez 1997-1998 Mike Crosa 1998-1999 David Stanley 1999-2000 Kip Barkley 2000-2001 Lisa Bell 2001-2002 Stu Needel 2002-2003 Allison Blankenship 2003-2004 Sid Weigner 2004-2005 Gary Roberts 2005-2006 Marsha Freedman 2006-2007 Debbie Benami-Rahm

FSA New Member of the Year Award

1992-1993 Mark Hansen 1993-1994 Fred Schiavo 1994-1995 Barbara Udell 1995-1996 Diane Schuster 1996-1997 Barbara Montes 1997-1998 Brian Norris 1998-1999 Sid Weigner 2000-2001 Bhetty Waldron 2001-2002 Phyllis May 2002-2003 Linda Sherwin 2004-2005 Robert Stack 2005-2006 Mary Lou Williams 2006-2007 Karla Scott


Connect with Us
Contact Us

Contact Us

Phone: 855-299-8880